Moving Out

As a 22 year old college student approaching my last semester, I have had the urge to want to move out of my parents’ house for about 4 years. Knowing that I pay around $600.00 a month to go to school and only work part time, this was not a feasible plan by myself. Recently I found a roommate and we set a budget for a rent payment and got a plan to find an apartment, duplex or house for rent. After 2 weeks of vigorous looking, yesterday we finally found the perfect place and the best part it is below our budget! Because we found a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom house we will have a few more expenses than most apartments.

  • Electric
  • Water
  • Gas
  • Trash
  • Yard work (and it’s a big yard)

As soon as I got back to work after signing the 1 year lease, I immediately started looking at renter’s insurance policies. As a 22 year old college student I thought to myself “I don’t have a lot of expensive stuff.” But if my home burned down I would have nothing but the clothes on my back, things would really start to add up! My laptop, television, xbox, tablet, smartphone, all of my shoes (which there is a lot), my clothes, my bed, my table and chairs, straightener, hair stuff, makeup, cleaning supplies and the list goes on. That is why I went with an Oklahoma renter’s policy with $20,000 worth of personal property coverage, $500,000 personal liability, $1,000 medical payments to others, and 12 months loss of use. All of that coverage and it only costs me $205.00 a year, which even on my budget is very affordable and gives me that peace of mind leaving my possessions in my new “home”. The thought of moving away from my mom, dad and sister is kind of scary but knowing that in the case of a loss my personal property will be protected, makes me feel a lot more at ease. For more information on renter’s insurance or to get a quote you can visit our website http://www.rci-ins.com/insurance-solutions/personal-insurance/renters-insurance/ or call Hanna Hayes (me) or Amber Helmuth at 918-341-6081.

One thought on “Moving Out

  1. Hanna, congratulations on another step into adulthood and independence. It’s refreshing to see young adults like yourself taking responsibilty and venturing out into the world. We’re glad you’re on our team.

Leave a Reply

