Claremore Mourns the Loss of Mayor

Mickey with family putting up signs for the upcoming election.

Mickey with family putting up signs for the upcoming election.

This morning I received sad news that the Mayor of Claremore, and dear friend, Mickey Perry has passed away.  At the age of 66, Mickey passed away from a heartattack last night.  Honestly I am shocked, as most people who knew him would be. It was only a week ago my husband had to pull him out of our driveway, because it was too slick for him to get back up the slope (getting stuck was a result of him not listening to his daughter who told him not to go down there).  Nevertheless, I feel the need to reminisce about this great man.

Mickey and family after recieving his Citizen of the Year award.

Mickey and family after recieving his Citizen of the Year award.

Mickey has been serving the Rogers County area for decades now. He began as a patrol officer, then he worked for the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics, and eventually was promoted as the Chief of Police. Mickey retired as Chief of police at the beginning of 2011, but that would not be the last we seen of him. By April, Mickey had been elected as Mayor to the City of Claremore. Throughout his career he was also involved in other community events like the Special Olympics and “Share the Spirit”  which delivers food and gifts to those in need around the holidays. In 2012 Mickey was named as “The Citizen of the Year” by the Claremore Progress, and just this past Saturday he was inducted into the Law Enforcement Hall of Fame.

Mickey with daughter Jennifer after being inducted into the Law Enforcement Hall of Fame

Mickey with daughter Jennifer after being inducted into the Law Enforcement Hall of Fame

Anyone who knew Mickey knows that no job or title he has held was as important to him as the role of husband, father, and grandfather. Mickey’s daughter became my aunt about a decade ago, and with that he became a part of my family. Mickey was so wonderful to me! Such a sweetheart. It was Mickey who pulled a few strings (or a lot of strings) to help me cross my number one item off my bucket list. Because of Mickey I got to meet Garth Brooks while on a trip to Vegas! I cannot explain to you how happy I was! Turns out Mickey was just as excited for me he could hardly stand it. He called my Aunt first thing the following morning to see if I had called to tell her all about it. Mickey, his wife, and I met for lunch when I got home so I could fill him in on all the details.

Mickey Perry was one of the most giving, thoughtful, and respected people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. Not only will your family and friends miss you Mickey, but you will be missed by an entire community.

Leave a Reply

